POR15 & Powder Coat

DanM

Hey everyone,

I plan to use POR-15 to touch up the areas on my chassis where the powder coating has only partially covered.  As part of the prep process, are people removing the powder coat completely from the touch up area before doing the 3 stage POR process or are you leaving the powder coat in situ i.e. prepping and painting over it?

Thanks in advance.

IMG_4313a.thumb.jpg.b70811d1ab47eb61b75dfe1ee128271a.jpgIMG_4316a.thumb.jpg.b4215759e17d31b1b180f65de7afa089.jpg

This is my plan as well, I have much more work to do than that!

Im no paint expert,  but my opinion about PC on a chassis or suspension that is prone to constant impact is that a coating which is easily spot repaired is better than any PC.  PC ia fine for outdoor furniture,  and perhaps the roll bar,  but for a chassis that is being chipped at, flexed and occasionally modified,  I would rather have removable and replaceable paint.

There's hard and soft drying paints.  Lotus used to use oven enamel.

The problem with PC is once its chipped and water gets in, it can continue to penetrate under the "shell" and spread.  If an area of PC is good and not a rock target, I think one could paint over it as long as it isn't compromised by a hole drilling or mod.  

Regardless,  Rustoleum Aircraft Remover is your friend.

Edited by IamScotticus

Hi @IamScotticus.  I reached out to POR-15 directly with my question and here is their response.  Hope you find it useful!

My Question:

"I have a powder coated chassis and there are areas where the powder coat layer is not very thick. Can I paint POR-15 Rust Preventative Coating over the powder coat? If so, what prep do I need to do?"

Their Response:

"Yes, you will have to lightly sand or scuff the area then use our Cleaner Degreaser before applying the POR-15."

Thanks.